How do I add an announcement?
Go to the Announcements tool.
Select the Announcements tool from the Tool Menu of your site.
Title your announcement and add content.
Give your announcement a title, and then enter the content of the announcement into the Rich Text Editor. You may use the formatting options in the editor to modify the font size or color, add images or links, or embed other content.
Determine who can view the announcement.
By default, all people enrolled in this site see the announcement.
Making the announcement publicly viewable means that you can send a link to the announcement to people outside the course, even outside your instance of Sakai, and the announcement will be viewable by them.
Post announcement to group(s). (Optional)
If you have created groups in your course, the option to display to groups is shown. Select the group(s) you want to see the announcement. Only the people in the selected group will see this announcement.
Select when the announcement will be displayed.
By default, the announcement is displayed immediately upon posting. You can also choose to Hide it (saving as a draft until you are ready to post it), or you may Specify Dates when the announcement will be available.
Select availability dates. (Optional)
If you want the announcement to display during a specific time frame, choose Specify Dates. Select the box beside Beginning and/or Ending and click the calendar icon to insert the properly formatted date and time when the announcement will begin and/or end.
Click calendar icon to insert date and time.
Click the date on the calendar, and use the sliders to select the time. Then click Done.
Add attachments. (Optional)
Click the Add Attachments button.
Notify participants of announcement by email. (Optional)
WARNING: For emails from the Announcements tool to be sent to students and teaching assistants, the site must be published.
By default and assuming the site is published, all participants of the course are notified of the announcement by email. Be sure to select "None - No notification" if you do not want to send email notification. The options are as follows:
- High - All participants to send an email to everyone in the course, if the site is published.
- Low - Not received by those who have opted out to send to everyone except people who have intentionally changed their settings so that they don't receive low priority messages. However, no email will be sent to students or teaching assistant if this site is not published.
- None - No notification to refrain for email notification of the announcement.
For an announcement scheduled to be posted in the future (via the Specify Dates settings under Availability), the email notification corresponding to a "High" or "Low" setting will be scheduled to be sent when the Beginning date and time expires. However, the site must be published as a condition for the email to be sent, per the aforementioned warning.