Topics Map > Sakai > Sakai 12 Help > Site Info

Sakai 12 - Site Info: How do I add users to my course or project?

 

How do I add users to my course or project?

Note: Students registered for a course are automatically added to the corresponding course site that was requested through the Request Course form. The synchronizing of enrollment data with Sakai occurs once a day. However, students who drop a course are not automatically removed from a course site. To 'remove' these students instructors should set their Status to Inactive instead of click their corresponding Remove checkbox on the Site Info landing page. See How do I remove a student who has dropped this course?

For most institutions, student enrollment for registered courses is handled automatically through integration with the institutional student information system. However, if your institution allows site owners to add other participants such as TAs, Designers, etc., this article will walk you through the steps on how to add users.

Go to Site Info.

Site Info tool highlighted in the site Tool Menu.

Select the Site Info tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

Click Add Participants.

Add Participants tab highlighted in Site Info tabs.

Click Add Participants from Site Info tabs.

Add participant information.

  1. Enter Sakai account names. When entering multiple account names, enter them on separate lines without commas, semicolons, etc. Sakai accounts names can include either PLU ePass accounts or guest accounts. (To ascertain a person's ePass username, see How do I search for an ePass username?)
  2. Under "Participant Roles", choose whether to give all your newly added participants the same role or different roles (i.e. student, instructor, TA, etc.).
  3. Under "Participant Status", choose whether to let your newly added participants use the site right away by selecting Active, or keep them from accessing the site for now by selecting Inactive.
  4. Click Continue.

Choose participant role.

For the default option of Assign all participants the same role, select the radio button for the desired role and then click the Continue button.

Select individual participant roles.

If you chose to Assign each participant a role individually, use the drop-down menus to the right of the participants names to select each participant's role, and then click Continue.

Choose to send or not send a notification email.

Email notification options with Don't Send selected and Continue button highlighted.

You may choose the Send Now option to send a notification email to participants if desired.  The default setting is Don't Send.

Click the Continue button.

Confirm addition of participants.

Review the list of site participants and their roles to confirm that they will be added to your site.

If the information is correct, click the Finish button.




Keywords:    Doc ID:86551
Owner:Sean H.Group:Pacific Lutheran University
Created:2018-10-09 15:40 PDTUpdated:2019-08-22 13:30 PDT
Sites:Pacific Lutheran University
Feedback:  0   0