Topics Map > Software Guides > Google Drive

Google Drive: Sharing Files & Folders

This article covers instructions for using the web version of Google Drive. Be aware that other versions, such as the mobile app, will vary in functionality.


All files uploaded to, and created in, Google Drive are set to private by default. Only you, the owner of the Drive, can see them. In order to share them with someone else, such as to show them a file or to collaborate on a document, the sharing permissions for the file need to be configured properly. Files such as videos, images, PDFs, and other documents can be stored and shared through Google Drive. Files created through Google apps, such as Docs, Slides, and Sheets, are connected to Drive as well.


To upload a file to Google Drive:

  1. Navigate to drive.google.com and ensure you’re logged in with your PLU account. 
  2. Click the “New” button to the top-left and select “File upload” from the pop-up that appears.
  3. Locate and select the desired file that’s stored on the computer.
  4. Click “Open.” A pop-up that displays the upload progress will appear to the bottom-right. When done, the file will be accessible from your drive.

To create a new file in Google Drive, click “New” and select a file type from the pop-up (Google Docs, Sheets, etc). The file will open in a new tab and saved to your Drive.


To upload a folder, click "New" and select "Folder Upload."


Sharing a File Link

The following method is recommended for sharing a file with multiple people with viewing permission only. This means that they'll be able to see the file, but not make modifications to it.

 

To share a link to a file in Google Drive:

  1. Navigate to drive.google.com and ensure you’re logged in with your PLU account.
  2. Locate the desired file, and right-click it. A pop-up will appear.
  3. Select "Share."
  4. Click "Copy link" to the bottom-right.
  5. If "Restricted" is displayed under "Get Link," click the drop-down and select either:
    • Pacific Lutheran University: visitors will need to be logged in with their PLU ePass in order to see the file. 
    • Anyone with the link: anyone will be able to access the file with the link.
  6. Paste the link elsewhere to share it, such as in an email or Sakai. Recipients will be able to click the link and view the file, but won't be able to modify it.
 Alternatively, to share a file such as a Google Doc that's already open:
  1. Click the "Share" button the to top-right.
  2. Under "Get Link," if "Pacific Lutheran University" or "Anyone" is displayed, don't click anything and proceed to step 3. If "Restricted" is displayed, click "Change link to Pacific Lutheran University." The file will be only be accessible via link to people logged in a PLU account.
    • To make the file available to anyone with the link, click the drop-down and select "Anyone with the link."

  3. By default, people with the link will only be able to view the file. To adjust permissions, click the drop-down to the right and select an option:
    • Viewer: viewing only.
    • Commenter: allow commenting.
    • Editor: full editing capabilities.

  4. Click "Copy Link."
  5. Click "Done."
  6. Pate the link elsewhere to share it, such as in an email or Sakai. Recipients will be able to click the link to access the file.

Sharing Files with Specific People

People can be directly invited to a file, which can be especially useful for collaboration. Other users can have viewing access only, or be granted editing and commenting privileges.

 

To invite specific people to a file:


  1. Right-click the file in Google Drive and select "Share" from the pop-up that appears.
  2. Enter their names or emails in the field at the top of the new window. 

  3. Click the button to the right of the field and select a permission: Can edit, Can comment, or Can view.
    • Viewer: viewing only.
    • Commenter: allow comments.
    • Editor: full editing capabilities.

  4. Enter an invitation message into the text field.
  5. Click "Send." The invitees will receive an email notification.

Disabling Downloading

Any file shared in Google Drive is downloadable by default. This setting can be turned off at any time, which may be especially useful to prevent sharing of sensitive data.

To turn off downloading for a file:
  1. Right-click the file in Google Drive and select "Share" from the pop-up that appears.
  2. Click the gear icon to the top-right of the Share window.

  3. Uncheck the box, "Viewers and commenters can see the option to download, print, and copy."

  4. Click outside of the window to close it, or click the back arrow and then the "Done" button.


Guide Index:


iTech logo
Need support? Contact itech@plu.edu or visit www.plu.edu/itech.




Keywords:document, collaborate, doc, video, link, upload, share, file   Doc ID:98479
Owner:Misty B.Group:Pacific Lutheran University
Created:2020-03-05 09:37 PSTUpdated:2020-12-07 09:51 PST
Sites:Pacific Lutheran University
Feedback:  0   0